Time in Lissewege seems to move just that tad slower. With its picturesque canal, whitewashed polder houses and extensive fields and meadows this polder village is a classic example of how every Flemish village once looked: lively, charming and a touch nostalgic.
See numbers on the map
1. Chapel : small hexagonal baroque building (1687) with a.o. statue of St. Bernard, founder of the Cistercian Order.
2. Church of Our Lady : impressive early-gothic brickstone church (13th century). Quite remarkable interior with fine furnishings (organ-case, pulpit and roodloft dd. 1562 by Walram Romboudt, paintings by J. Van Oost, M. Van Duvenede en J. Maes, miraculous Madonna-statue (1625).
On top of the 166 feet high tower an overwhelming view of the surrounding countryside can be enjoyed.
Church: opening times: 10 a.m to 5 p.m., Summer: 9 a.m. tot 8 p.m. : free entrance.
Information: H.H. Priest Verroens. T + 32 50 54 45 44.
Tower: opening times : 16-30 June and 1-16 September only Saturdays and Sundays. From 1st July till 31st August daily from 2 to 5 p.m..
Price : adults: € 1,00 | Children under 12 : € 0,50.
Other periods : after reservation for parties > 15 persons.
Information: T. +32 50 54 54 72 or mobile : +32 487 49 92 14.
3. Ter Doest : The commanding early Gothic abbey barn (14th century) of this former 12th-century Cistercian abbey has only recently been completely restored. The dovecote (1651) and monumental gatehouse (1662) have also withstood the ravages of time brilliantly.
Daily 10.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.
Information: Ter Doeststraat 4, Lissewege
4. Historical museum : The many unique pictures, maps, scale models and archeological finds displayed in the museum illustrate the history of more than 1000 years of the "White village" of Lissewege and the former Cistercian abbey of Ter Doest (Open: June 15 - Sept 15 from 2 p.m. till 5.30 p.m.).
5. Lisseweegs Vaartje : quaint small canal, former trade route between Lissewege and Bruges, with tastefully flowered banks in summer.
The visitors centre traces the one thousand-year old history of this white village by way of unique photos, maps, models and a collection of archeolgic finds from the erstwhile Cistercian abbey of Ter Doest.
Information: Oude Pastoriestraat 5, 8380 Lissewege.
How to reach Lissewege:
Lissewege can be reached by bus nr. 47 Bruges-Zeebrugge (departure : railway station Bruges). Every hour there is also a train to Zeebrugge, which stops at Lissewege. By car : follow road signs to Zeebrugge.
Info: T. +32 70 22 02 00, De Lijn